Wednesday, December 7th

As abysmal as my French is, it’s started to supplant my English.  I no longer remember the English word for “gazeuse,” I stumble on the American term for “bio” and I’ll need to remember that (unless I’m in England), no one will know what a “courgette” is.

I’ve also discovered that my French is at it’s very best when I’m in other European countries.   “Combien…..Où est…..Avez-vous….Je voudrais.”   Pronouns, nouns, verbs, adjectives…..they flow like milk and honey……until I’m back in France, where my phase du jour is (without fail),  “Je ne parle pas français.”

“Boy, those French….they have a different word for everything” ~ Steve Martin
 
Gazeuse: sparkling water
Bio: organic
Courgette: zucchini
Combien: How much
Où est: Where is
Avez-vous: Do you have
Je voudrais: I would like
Je ne parle pas français: I don’t speak French
 
About Languedoc Lady

I'm a newly retired woman from California getting ready to spend a year (or more) with my husband living the good life in Languedoc in the southwest of France.
This entry was posted in Canal du Midi, France, Retirement, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wednesday, December 7th

  1. Debra Kolkka says:

    Some words just sound better in another language. I particularly like Signora rather than Mrs – so much nicer.

  2. Hahaha! Love this! It happens to best of us! Sometimes when I speak to my family back home I feel like I’ve lost my entire English vocabulary. I’m ughhhing and umming every few words. Thankfully when I write it all, normally, comes out correctly. Fingers crossed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

