Saturday, February 26th

Musings on life after a broken leg…….

Life will never be the same.  I will no longer take easy striding and carefree stepping for granted.   I’ll notice any and all mobility issues in a crowd and I’ll make a quick asssessment of people’s conditions with my newfound vocabulary…..”must be a tib-fib fracture,”  “she’s non-weight bearing,” “he’s still doing the meet-step.”   

I’ll wince when I see people casually and unknowingly put themselves at risk…..young women wearing stilettos, joggers scanning the skies, waiters carrying heavy trays, children running through plazas….all of them oblivious to the dangers below.  

Walking is no longer second nature for me….it’s both a physical and mental process.  To overcome a stiff, flat-footed gait, I need to consciously remember “heel, toe, heel, toe” as I place one foot in front of the other.  I now constantly scan the path in front of me…..ever vigilant for any obstacles that might trip me and always, always looking for the path of least resistance.  If I see stairs to climb, I look for a ramp; if there’s no ramp, I check for a hand-rail; if there’s no hand-rail, I ponder if the destination is worth the journey…..and often decide that it isn’t…..it’s not worth the slow walk up or the careful, fearful walk down. 

As I continue to heal, I have every confidence that my strength will return….and with it, my courage….but I also know I’ll never take walking for granted again……

…..and that might not be a bad thing.

About Languedoc Lady

I'm a newly retired woman from California getting ready to spend a year (or more) with my husband living the good life in Languedoc in the southwest of France.
This entry was posted in Canal du Midi, France, Retirement, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saturday, February 26th

  1. sharmyn@pacbell.net says:

    Ah, awareness of the very basics of my being brings to me the deepest gratitude and joy!

Leave a Reply

