Monday, December 13th

First up today was a trip to the train station to buy our tickets for tomorrow’s trip to Nuremberg where we’ll board the MS Amadeus Royal.  There’s one ticket counter in the main train station that’s dedicated to helping English speaking tourists.  The young man at the counter saved us a lot of money by selling us a ticket for 30 euros that’s good for up to five people for one day and includes transportation on the subway system, the local trains and the regional trains…..amazingly, with this ticket we could have taken 3 friends to Salzburg or Nuremberg for the day.  Now that our transport was taken care of, we hopped on a Hop-On Hop-Off bus tour of Munich. 

The first stop was Nymphenberg Palace, the summer home of the Wittelsbach’s.  A canal leading up to the palace was just starting to freeze over and rental booths for sporting equipment were being set-up for ice skaters and curlers (guess it really is a sport).

The city, wearing a white coat of snow, was utterly beautiful.  The architecture, so very different than in France, was exquisite….pastel-colored, multi-storied homes….simple yet elegant.    

We hopped-off close to Marienplatz and toured the churches along the way…..

Burgerstaal

Interior of St Michael's

Burgersaal ,

St Michael’s,

Frauenkirche

Frauenkirche,

and St Peter’s…..each lovingly rebuilt after WWII.

As is my custom, I lit a candle for my parents….choosing St Michael’s in honor of my grandfather. 

St Peter's

By the time we reached  St.Peter’s, my feet were killing me…..each step was more painful than the last….I literally couldn’t take another step so we sat down to rest on a pew near a small altar.  I took off my boots and tried to rub life back into my feet.  As we sat there, our boots dripping melting snow on the church floor, I began to feel that perhaps we weren’t using the church in an entirely respectful manner.  In penance, I put a euro in the candle box…..with a suggested offering of .40 per candle, I took two candles and pondered who most needed divine intervention.  It didn’t take too long to come up with the answer…..I lit one candle for my left foot and the other candle for my right foot.   

It was cold and my stamina was waning so we headed back to the hotel….passing up all the German beer halls lining the streets for a different type of comfort food….one that none of our ancestors had ever tasted.  We ate at a pizza parlor next to the hotel.

Wenn der Mond trifft das Auge wie eine große Pizza Pie …..when the moon hits your eye like a big pizza pie

 
About Languedoc Lady

I'm a newly retired woman from California getting ready to spend a year (or more) with my husband living the good life in Languedoc in the southwest of France.
This entry was posted in France, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

