Tuesday, September 21st

Three noise-free nights!  Dare we believe that our intruder truly is gone…..never to return??  We’re keeping our fingers crossed.

Craig and I were preparing the house and the boat for our trip home when we heard a horrible crash!  France has a Good Samaritan law requiring you to help anyone who’s injured….so, fearing the worst, we each looked out our respective windows.  A boat was passing under the bridge….the captain and passengers had ducked their heads down but forgot about the bicycles on the Flying Bridge behind them.  CRASH, BANG, CRUNCH…..down went the bikes…..taking the boat’s railing with them….. thankfully, no one was hurt.  Hope the captain took out the optional damage insurance when he rented the boat.   

After that bit of excitement, it was time to get ready for my last rendezvous with Angelique….my taskmaster and cheerleader during these past few months.  She, too, was touched by my gift and asked me to stop in to say “hello” when I return in October…..but, always the disciplinarian, said I must have no cane when I return.

She also noticed my new Crocs…..something I swore I’d never buy…..but, knowing none of my shoes will accommodate a swollen foot, they were reluctantly purchased for the long plane ride home.  No chic French pumps for me this trip. 

And no fine dining for us today…..we need to empty out the refrigerator.  Hmmm, let’s see…..wine and cheese?  Not so bad after all.

See you soon…..a bientôt

About Languedoc Lady

I'm a newly retired woman from California getting ready to spend a year (or more) with my husband living the good life in Languedoc in the southwest of France.
This entry was posted in Canal du Midi, France, Retirement, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tuesday, September 21st

  1. Susan says:

    Hey VDKs! You’ll know pretty soon if Ratty has been shut into the walls. Le icky smell will tell you if it’s true. We know from bitter experience. You’re looking great Gayleen. It’ll be good to have you home in a few days. Bon voyage.

  2. Sandy says:

    I LOVE my crocs and have worn them for years. They work great for the doggie wash because they give the support I need for the cement floor and of course they are waterproof. Having said that…..just want you to know that I was wearing my crocs when I fell and broke my shoulder…. I was born a klutz, however, I wasn’t being one when I fell. Be careful when you wear them as sometimes they “grab” the floor and stop while your body continues to move forward! This has happened to me on several occasions!

  3. Carol says:

    I am SURE that ratty is gone because he showed up after work last night in my California backyard!!! Dead, however. And yes, he was huge!

    Have a great trip back home.

Leave a Reply

