Friday, September 17th

Not a good night last night.  Ratty was in the walls ….scratch, scratch, scratching.  Have we sealed him inside?  Or have we just sealed his entrances to the upstairs? 

Sleep was disturbed by this noise and this knowledge.  Felix, again, was en garde.  He came bounding down the stairs, pouncing then jumping at imperceptible movements or noises.  We were so proud of his fearlessness….until we saw the object of his pursuit…..a moth!  That’s our Felix….. making the world a safer place one moth at a time.  The stirrings of Ratty didn’t seem to bother him.

After a uneasy night, we rose early.  While I worked on last minute details for our return home, Craig worked on the yards….mowing, watering….getting them ready for the neglect they’ll be suffering during our time away. 

I saw Angelique in mid-afternoon.  She’s pleased with my progress but told me I must do my exercises and walk, walk, walk when I get home.  Our lives have revolved around these daily therapy rendezvous.  I’m going to miss my kinesitherapeutes.  Like Dorothy’s friends in Oz, they’ve helped me find my way through the challenges of the past few months.

We arrived home just in time to watch the hotel barge “Enchanté” maneuver under the bridge and through a lock.  It was a sight to behold….the captain maneuvering this gargantuan forward then backward then forward again as it made a slow right turn toward the bridge.  Finally….perpendicular to the bridge….it started it’s measured crawl through the small aperture.  With a scant few millimeters difference between the circumference of the boat and that of the bridge, the captain navigated his charge through this 16th century architecture with the skill of a seamstress threading a needle….his only concession was to briefly remove the wheel….the only part of the boat too tall to glide under the bridge.   

After watching this production….as good as any Broadway show….it was time for Felix to join us outdoors for aperitifs.  Tonight we tried martini’s made the Julia Child way….2/3 vermouth, 1/3 vodka….  a more flavorful version with a somewhat lighter taste….but still very potent.  Maybe they’ll help us sleep through Ratty’s wanderings tonight.

Bonne Nuit…..

About Languedoc Lady

I'm a newly retired woman from California getting ready to spend a year (or more) with my husband living the good life in Languedoc in the southwest of France.
This entry was posted in Canal du Midi, France, Retirement, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friday, September 17th

  1. Sharmyn says:

    “making the world a safer place, one moth at a time” your words are a joy to read, they bering a smile to not only my face, but also to my heart. 🙂 when will I get to see you?

  2. Karen says:

    Hi there,

    I have enjoyed reading your daily diary of adventures. You’re such a wonderful writer and the food descriptions are what I enjoy the most. I’m glad to hear you’re getting better every day. What a strange twist of fate to have this happen. Craig is such a good sport!
    We can’t wait to see you when you return. We MUST get together and we’ll make you our martini’s which we have every Friday!
    Safe journey home and please call us when you get here.

Leave a Reply

