Tuesday, September 14th

We suspect Felix logged-in to read the blog last night….and didn’t like the aspersions to his character…. because he was on guard duty all night.  At the slightest noise, he’d be stealthily creeping through the cottage….upstairs, downstairs, no nook or cranny was overlooked in his vigilance.  Close to daybreak, Craig and I heard what Felix had been carefully following all night…. “scratch, scratch, scratch”….coming from within the bedroom wall. 

His duty done, his honor vindicated, Felix finally settled down for a long nap. 

As Felix began his slumbers, Craig started his day…..looking for and sealing all possible entrances into the cottage.   While Craig was working on this , I received a call from Caryl…..she’d seen my picture of our visitor and was absolutely flabbergasted by his sheer enormity.  She reassured me that she had never seen a creature this size in or near the cottage….field mice were the only nuisances she’d dealt with.  So….just who is Ratty?  Perhaps he’s a solitary man?  A runaway from a science project?  A no longer wanted pet?  We took comfort in knowing that he might not have a family or be part of a tribe.  Maybe, just maybe, if we can keep him out of the cottage, he’ll look for other quarters. 

With all known entrances duly sealed, Craig drove me to therapy. 

It’s strange, but in the past 10 weeks, I haven’t driven and I haven’t carried a purse….two things I thought I could never live without.  How one simple twist of fate can change so much.

On our return, Felix let us know that it was time to go outside so, with glasses of Ambre vermouth in hand, we joined him outdoors….watching the boats go by….giving directions to French bicyclists who didn’t trust our knowledge of the locale…especially since we couldn’t understand the name of the town they were looking for….saying Bon Jour to the walkers going by.  These evenings outdoors are always interesting.

Neither of us wanted to cook (of course, for me, it’s a moot point….I couldn’t stand long enough to cook a meal anyway)…..so tonight’s dinner was cheese with celery, carrots and radishes….and a chocolate éclair for dessert.  Not fine cuisine, but delicious none the less.

Jusqu’à demain…..until tomorrow

About Languedoc Lady

I'm a newly retired woman from California getting ready to spend a year (or more) with my husband living the good life in Languedoc in the southwest of France.
This entry was posted in Canal du Midi, France, Retirement, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tuesday, September 14th

  1. Sandy says:

    Where was the picture Caryl saw? I did’nt see it!

  2. Sandy says:

    I’ve saved all your posts in an email folder so I went back and looked, and sure enough, there he was! I hadn’t even noticed that before! Maybe there was a reason for that! Hahahha

Leave a Reply

