Tuesday, September 7th

Didn’t do too much today….spent most of the day on the couch icing my ankle….guess water therapy and walking around Mr. Bricoman (a hardware store) was a little too much for me to handle yesterday.  On the plus side, Craig said there was very little water in the boat today….even after last night’s storm….so maybe, just maybe, what he’s finding is residual water from before the repairs were made.  We’re keeping our fingers crossed.

Therapy with Angelique went well….she told me that I am a good patient.  I’m sure that was to placate me after pushing my ankle way past it’s comfort zone…..OW!  (or as they say in France….AOU!)  

Dinner was “a la maison” (at home) tonight.  Craig was at his Michelin best….steak with armagnac cream sauce, baked potatoes with crème fraiche and chives, haricots verts (green beans) and a bande feuilletée fraise (strawberry puff pastry tart) for dessert. 

Armagnac, a brandy made in southwest France, added flavor and helped tenderize the steak.  The sauce was easily made by adding crème fraiche to the pan drippings….capers were the finishing touch. 

The potatoes were fabulous….the best I’ve ever had.  French potatoes are indescribably delicious….they have an inherently buttery taste and they’re so creamy, they melt in your mouth.  My favorite meal in the hospital was dinner after my surgery…..I knew my meals that day would be bland, but I couldn’t believe my eyes when I removed the cover from my dinner tray and found a stinkin’ plate of mashed potatoes!  The presentation left much to be desired (white potatoes on a beige plate) but after one bite, I was in heaven….best mashed potatoes ever!

Craig can’t take credit for the tart….it came from the boulangerie.  Crisp sheets of puffed pastry iced with crème anglaise and topped with fresh strawberries…..délicieux!

Life is good…..la vie est belle

About Languedoc Lady

I'm a newly retired woman from California getting ready to spend a year (or more) with my husband living the good life in Languedoc in the southwest of France.
This entry was posted in Canal du Midi, France, Retirement, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

