Monday, August 30th

We didn’t do much today….a little reading, water therapy and shopping .  During my session with Jaky, he told me that yesterday’s excursion to Capestang was too strenuous and that I need to slow down a little…. so I was back in the wheelchair for our shopping trip to Carrefour.

Musings on shopping in a wheelchair …..

You surrender your autonomy…. I want to be independently mobile and hope to strengthen my arms so I prefer to push myself along but Craig, thinking he’s being helpful, will come up from behind and take control of the chair with no prior warning.  I’m always afraid he’ll catch my hand in the spokes.   His pace also differs from mine, so I’m forced to linger too long in some places and not long enough in others.  I can understand why children in strollers get so frustrated.

You cease to exist for most of the population…. Just because I’m 2 ½ feet shorter doesn’t mean I’m not here.  I don’t know if people just don’t see me or if they choose to ignore me but I’m always on my guard for fear of colliding with a steel grocery cart.    

Your field of vision is limited….the top shelves of grocery stores were often unreachable when I was 5’4”, now I can’t even see them….or the 3 shelves underneath them….this extremely limits my purchases. 

Children love to see you eye-to-eye….. They’re fascinated by the wheelchair and always look to see who’s in it.  Their parents may not see me, but every child notices, smiles and makes way for me.

It’s fun! …..Wheeling around in circles…..stopping on a dime…..feeling the wind against your face…..it’s just darn fun.

All-in-all, the wheelchair has been a Godsend……

but I don’t think I’ll miss it when it’s gone.

About Languedoc Lady

I'm a newly retired woman from California getting ready to spend a year (or more) with my husband living the good life in Languedoc in the southwest of France.
This entry was posted in Canal du Midi, France, Retirement, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

