Friday, August 27th

Felix again woke me with playful nips on my nose.  I’m not sure why he does it, but this is our morning ritual.  His morning greeting for Craig is different….he wakes Craig with a pounce on the chest and a loud “meow”….it must be a guy thing.

It’s going to be another hot day….102 degrees….so we close the windows early in an attempt to keep the cool night air inside.  I stay cool….until I leave the cottage….then the heat sneaks up on me.  It seems pleasant enough at first but before I even realize it, my clothes have become increasingly damp as every pore in my body leaks….within minutes, I am literally dripping.  I swear I’ve grown a few miles of new sweat glands since I’ve been here. 

Interestingly, despite the heat, I have yet to see a French person perspire….no matter how high the temperature gets, they always look refreshed and cool.  I think this is the real reason why French people don’t use deodorant….they just don’t sweat!

After lunch, we depart for Narbonne and water therapy with Jaky.  Traffic was light and we arrived too early….still lunch time in France…..so we were driving lazily through the local neighborhood when we spied a boulangerie that was open!  Craig parked the car and I started my slow walk toward this oasis….hoping that they wouldn’t close before I arrived at their door.  As I walked, much to my amazement, I saw that I easily and consistently put my right foot ahead of my left!  I was feeling quite pleased with this progress until I was leaving through the electronic doors….guess I was a little too slow ‘cause the doors started closing on me, caught my cannes and spun me around….or perhaps this is what happens to anyone who buys only a baguette?

Even with the stop at the boulangerie, we arrived early for my therapy so I decided against the wheelchair and proceeded to the pool using my cannes.  We arrived poolside and I started my “cannes-less” journey to the buoyant water.  Walking down the steps and into the pool was still difficult, perhaps a little less so.  After a few laps up and back, Jaky met us and changed the routine….adding a backwards walk and toe points at the bar….I felt like I was ten years old again and back in ballet class.  After an hour, I was too tired to continue so Craig helped me out of the pool and I walked back to the car on my cannes….well, ok, maybe it was more of a shuffle-step this time but, at least,  I didn’t need the wheelchair!

We stopped in Colombiers to check on our boat.  The second test was successful so we can bring her home tomorrow.  Now I need to decide if I’ll make the trip with Craig.  I’ve made good progress this week but will I be able to get on and off the boat? 

The evening cooled nicely just in time for aperitifs.  Felix has decided that our aperitif time is his outside time so he joined us in this new ritual.  In a rare show of bravado, he ventured across the path and up the bridge where he sat and looked down at the water until it was time for all of us to come in for dinner. 

Tonight’s menu?   Too tired to cook….it’s cheese, bread, grapes and wine for us and turkey kibble for Felix.

Bon appétit!

About Languedoc Lady

I'm a newly retired woman from California getting ready to spend a year (or more) with my husband living the good life in Languedoc in the southwest of France.
This entry was posted in Canal du Midi, France, Retirement, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday, August 27th

  1. Sandy says:

    Wow, I’m impressed with the looks of that pool. I wish I had water therapy for my arm – even if it wasn’t in France!

Leave a Reply

