Thursday, August 26th

Yesterday’s water therapy must have really exhausted me….I didn’t wake up until 8:30 this morning…. stiff and sore from my waist to my knees.  After a lazy start to the day, we decided to drive to La Redorte for lunch.  La Redorte is a small town along the banks of the Canal du Midi with a port area and a restaurant next to the water. 

As we drove into town, we spied a boulangerie on the main street with parking out front!  Craig circled around and easily slid our little Modus into the space.  The boulangerie was nearby and the sidewalk was flat so I was able to slowly amble in.  As I neared the entrance, the divine aroma of baking bread was wafting through the air….beckoning all who came near.  I had  almost forgotten this wonderful, yeasty fragrance…..one whiff and I was in my happy place.  Their pastries looked delectable and their prices were very good, but we had no way to keep the creamy concoctions chilled before returning home so, one baguette and two croissants later, we were back in the car vowing to return at a later date.  

The port area was quiet and we were able to find a parking space near the restaurant….close enough that I could shuffle-step to it. 

It was a hot day….102 degrees….so we passed on the full “le menu” offerings….way too much to eat on a day like this and opted for more simple fare.  Craig, now a big fan of gizzards, ordered the Salade de Gésiers while I had a pizza……big enough to share. 

After a leisurely lunch, it was time to head back to Salleles d’Aude and my appointment with Sebastien.  I thought he’d be pleased that I had mastered the shuffle-step but, no, it seems therapists are never satisfied.  Now, my mission is to ensure my right foot steps further than my left foot….no more shuffle-step even if it means taking tiny, baby steps. 

At the end of the session, Sebastien said it was time to say “good-bye.”  Ms Bunot is returning from vacation so his work at the clinic is finished.  Craig and I thanked him for his help and wished him well in his future endeavors.  I will miss his gentle touch.

Avec l’espoir pour demain…..with hope for tomorrow

   

About Languedoc Lady

I'm a newly retired woman from California getting ready to spend a year (or more) with my husband living the good life in Languedoc in the southwest of France.
This entry was posted in Canal du Midi, France, Retirement, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thursday, August 26th

  1. Marianne says:

    Dear Languedoc Lady,

    When reading your story I compare my vacation in the Savoie this August. Very good bakeries, nice nature we visited the abbey Chartreuse and tried the yellow and green one
    in the caves. We must travel now, because who knows that with our feet and legs we cannot do it anymore in 5 – 10 years. We have to maintain our French or get better and
    I had the chance to meet one of my best former colleagues up there.

    • Dear Marianne,
      Thank you for your note. My husband and I haven’t yet been to Savoie but we hope to tour all the areas of France before we return to California in a year or two. What towns and sights
      were your favorites?
      We continue our quest to learn French on our own but, in the Fall, we may take lessons from a local teacher. We can make ourselves understood, but we can’t understand what’s being said to us. Americans are, sadly, not very bilingual.
      Best wishes on your travels,
      Gayleen

  2. Abby says:

    All I want to know Auntie was he single? He’s so dashing! 🙂 xoxox

Leave a Reply

