Tuesday, August 24th

To paraphrase Charles Dickens, “it was the best of days, it was the worst of days.”

The day started badly after we drove into Narbonne to make the arrangements for my piscine (swimming pool) therapy.  Oddly enough, there are no ramps leading into this kiniesotherapy center so, still unable to navigate stairs, I was relegated to the wheelchair.  One of the therapists, Jaky, speaks some English, so he was assigned to my case.  Therapy starts tomorrow, but no pool yet.  He wants to test what I can do with my now healing leg.  If we heard him correctly, I may not be able to have water therapy for the duration of my sessions.

From there, we drove to Colombiers to check on our boat.  It was lunchtime when we arrived ….no point even checking in at the office…. so we opted to have lunch at Pom’Cannelle on the marina.  After skipping breakfast, I was famished.  I’ve always ordered their salads and pizzas so I was happily surprised to see “Galettes” (savory buckwheat crepes) on the menu.  I ordered the Forestière galette avec supplément œuf (ham, mushroom and cheese crepe topped with an egg).  Craig ordered the Viande pizza (tomate, fromage, oignons, viande haché….tomato, cheese, onions, ground meat).  For dessert, we opted for the  Martiniquaise crepe (chocolat, banane cuite flambée au Rhum….chocolate, banana flamed with rum).  Best breakfast ever!  The day has definitely taken a turn for the better.

Rive de France was now open and its owner, Thierry LeSieur, was on our boat checking on the repair.  He was pleased.  The diesel tank had been cleaned and the boat had been running for 3 hours with no problem.  If it tests well again tomorrow, we can bring her home.  The good news continues.

Then, off to Sallèles-d’Aude for my therapy session with Angelique.  She watched me hop into the Salle de Soins….and would have none of it.  “The time for the hopping is over,” she said.  “It is time to walk.”  With her demonstration and encouragement, I tentatively put my left foot down and slowly increased the weight on it ….up to 20 kilos today….with no pain!   My right leg no longer hops but, not too trusting of this new turn of events, shuffles.  According to Angelique, this is good progress.  . 

I shuffled down to the car and we returned to the cottage early enough to sit outside enjoying our Kir apéritifs (white wine with crème de Cassis) before dinner. 

A votre santé….to your health

About Languedoc Lady

I'm a newly retired woman from California getting ready to spend a year (or more) with my husband living the good life in Languedoc in the southwest of France.
This entry was posted in Canal du Midi, France, Retirement, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

