Monday, August 23rd

Sleep didn’t come easy last night.  The couch has been my friend and ally.  For weeks, it has enveloped me in its folds and eased me to a gentle sleep .  The bed, however, has its own agenda….I’m allowed to rest on it as long as I follow its rules: it prefers that I stretch out flat on my back and rolling over is at my own risk.  Around 3:00 am, an uneasy compromise was reached….if I slept with my head at the foot of the bed, I was allowed to move comfortably on my side. 

Felix, unlike the bed, was pleased with my return.  He snuggled up close throughout the night and playfully woke me in the morning with a few love nips on my nose and soft paw pushes on my face.  With cannes in hand….or rather, arm…..I re-explored the bedroom.  The bathroom is a step up from the bedroom and the shower basin is at least 4 inches high….one small step for mankind, one giant leap for me right now.  Back up the stairs (bum-scoot style) to my petite toilette and comfy couch.

Craig and I spent the day researching options for an Egyptian tour.  When it’s cold and gloomy here in the south of France, a trip to a warmer clime will be a welcome respite.  Although we normally prefer independent travel, Egypt is a little out of our comfort zone.  We found an Australian-based company that offers small group experiences….one travel guide and no more than 12 guests.  Their tour includes both free-time and excursions in Cairo, Alexandria, Aswan, & Luxor followed by a 3-day cruise on the Nile that will take us to the temple of Abu Simbel, Karnak and the Valley of the Kings.  All this and a temperature that should be in the balmy 70’s!   Well, at least there won’t be snow on the ground.  Not booked yet, but at least we found a tour that sounds promising.

We were roused from our reverie of mummies and camels by the sharp ringing of the phone.  It was Sebastien.  He is able to start my therapy tonight!

A few hours later, I started my bum-scoot down the stairs wondering how many more times I’ll have to do this before I can depart the cottage in an upright position.  In the “Salle de Soins,” Sebastien had me “walk” to the scale….”NO,” I silently scream….this is every woman’s nightmare….being weighed in front of your husband!   But my fears are unfounded.  I am to begin my return to normalcy by putting 20 pounds of weight on my foot, so only my left leg was needed on the scale.  I exerted pressure up to 10 kilos.  It felt good to have my foot touching the firmness of the scale.  I pushed a little more….up to 12 kilos….then the pain shot up my leg.  If this is any indication, full weight-bearing will take some time.

Back at the cottage, the day is still warm and dusk is a few hours off so we sit outside enjoying a glass of wine….or two.  We spy a spider web firmly attached to a tree.  Something moves….it looks as large as a hummingbird….has the web attracted some unfortunate creature?  Craig walks softly over to take a closer look for both of us.  No prey caught yet.but the web’s creator is patiently waiting (click on the picture for a better look).

Down by the canal, a fisherman has given up on the fish and is feeding the local ducklings….their mom in careful attendance.  

Felix decides to join us outside, but a dog bounds over the canal bridge forcing Felix to run back to the safety of the porch.  And there he remains until we all adjourn inside for the evening. 

Bon soir, mes amis….Good evening, my friends

About Languedoc Lady

I'm a newly retired woman from California getting ready to spend a year (or more) with my husband living the good life in Languedoc in the southwest of France.
This entry was posted in Canal du Midi, France, Retirement, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

