Thursday, August 19th

Another lazy day at the cottage….the peace was broken only by a phone call from Dr Afriat’s secretariat.  Craig took the call and tried very hard to understand what she was saying, but quickly gave up and passed the phone over to me. 

The secretariat speaks no English, so this was an exercise in futility.  My side of the conversation consisted of many “Je ne comprends pas” (I do not understand) and even more “Je suis désolé” (I am sorry) and a few “Mon ami appelle-vous pour moi?” (My friend call you for me?)

The secretariat, however, was determined to make contact with this alien species so she forged on.  I finally understood that I was to have a five minute massage.  OK….this isn’t the bad news I feared would be coming from this phone call.  A little massage would be good before seeing the doctor….but when?

“Quand?” I asked.  “Cinq minutes” she replied.  The ball’s back in my court now…..what do I answer?   “Je ne comprend pas”

I could tell she was becoming frustrated but she wouldn’t  acquiesce to defeat.  She tried once again….this time pulling out the trump card….. “Un message en cinq minutes…..EMAIL.”

Ah…..that’s it…..I’m not to get a five minute massage…..I’m to get an email message in five minutes.

We waited patiently….the message was received on schedule….my appointment with the doctor has been changed to Saturday.

We spent the rest of the afternoon listening to our Michel Thomas French language tapes….. “voir” (to see), “avoir” (to have), “savoir” (to know). 

Je comprends que je ne comprends pas très bien le français (I understand that I don’t understand French very well).

Jusqu’à demain…..until tomorrow

About Languedoc Lady

I'm a newly retired woman from California getting ready to spend a year (or more) with my husband living the good life in Languedoc in the southwest of France.
This entry was posted in Canal du Midi, France, Retirement, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thursday, August 19th

  1. Sharmyn says:

    I love these stories. I can only imagine your frustration — and disappointment at losing out on the 5-minute massage! I am inspired by your courage and your persistence!

  2. Susi says:

    I think you are handling the communication frustration extremely well. I know how crazy I get just trying to get telephone business dealt with when both parties supposedly speak English! I commend you!
    We are packing up and heading for Yellowstone for two weeks! I am so excited I can hardly stand it! I told one of my colleagues that it is actually two weeks and one day because I am certainly in “vacation mode” today. Who can think of timesheets and meetings when I just want to be taking pictures of buffalo and moose and watching Old Faithful?
    It will be fun to catch up on your blog when I return. Hopefully you will be floating down a river, cane, pain and wheelchair free by then!
    “See you” when we return!

  3. Mani Subramaniam says:

    Next time crank up the computer and go into anyone of the free translator sites and start typing what she says and viola! a translator at your finger tips. Google has a very good one. I actually communicate with my sister in my language using Google. To keep in touch with the language.
    http://www.google.com/ig – I entered your last sentence and the translation.
    Je comprends que je ne comprends pas très bien le français
    French to English Google Translator
    I understand that I do not understand French very well.

Leave a Reply

