Saturday, August 14th

The morning sun was bright and warm today signaling another hot day, so we got an early start on our plans.

First up….an open-air Marché de Poterie in Sallèles-d’Aude….a market of handmade pottery items.  Booths were still being set-up when we arrived, but fortunately a number of artisans had arrived early so we had more than enough to browse through.  The craftsmanship and prices were excellent and it was hard to pass these treasures by without buying one, but it will be difficult enough to ship what we have back home….this isn’t the time to pick up souvenirs….darn!

After this, it was time for some serious shopping….on to the Géant hypermarket in Narbonne where we found something we knew we would need for the boat but didn’t know if we’d find….a fish net large enough to scoop Felix out of the canal.  He’s not the most graceful feline….and we suspect that this new acquisition will be put to good use. 

After we returned home, an afternoon breeze came up chasing the heat away so we sat outside for hours and hours….talking about nothing in particular, eating stinky (and I use this word very reverently) French cheese and drinking chilled rosé….ahhhh, life is good.

About Languedoc Lady

I'm a newly retired woman from California getting ready to spend a year (or more) with my husband living the good life in Languedoc in the southwest of France.
This entry was posted in Canal du Midi, France, Retirement, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Saturday, August 14th

  1. Susi says:

    How I LOVE to read your posts. I’m sittling at my desk working on a spreadsheet and eating my lunch. It consists of iced oatmeal cookies, Cheetos and a PB&J sandwich. What is even more pathetic is that I ate it in that order and I started at 10:45 in the morning because I was staring! Now that’s just sad.
    Even with your walking issues and doctor visits and such, your days are so much more glamorous than mine! Although we are packing for a two week road trip to Yellowstone that I’m pretty excited about.
    I adore Felix’s net. I can’t wait to hear about thie first time you get to christen it! What thoughtful “parents” you are. I don’t think that it would have ever crossed my mind. Not to mention that with the relationship I currently have with the cat that runs our home . . . I would be more inclined to throw her overboard than to fish her out!
    When do you think you will actually be allowed to get out on the boat and enjoy the waterways? I hope the lovely weather holds out long enough for you to really experience everything you had planned.
    Here is clinking my bottle of Lipton Iced Tea to your wine glass!

    • Thank you….I’m enjoying writing them, too :-). We went to Yellowstone years ago when Chris was little. It’s was beautiful….varied topography throughout the park. I’d love to hear your impressions and see some pics!
      The boat was supposed to be finished last week, but we haven’t heard anything, so we’ll need to follow-up with them. I’m not sure when I’ll be able to get on/off the boat. The wooden gangplank resting on the bank of the canal doesn’t allow for a good “bum-scoot” but Craig may take Caryl, Jean-Michel and his grandkids out for a cruise.

  2. Donna says:

    Wish I was there to share the cheese, wine and company. I love reading the blog.

    Thanks, Donna

Leave a Reply

