Monday, August 9th

The day started with high expectations.  Dr Afriat’s secretary will be back from vacation today and, with the flick of her magic pen, will be able to commute my sentence to 6 weeks.  The minutes crept by as I waited anxiously for 9:00 am to come.  Finally, finally, it was time….I pulled up the French translation of my request and dialed her number.  She answered!  In my very best French (which is not so good), I explained that although I have an appointment scheduled for September 1st, Dr Leroy advised that I must see Dr Afriat sooner than that….that I must see him next week.  I implored, I pleaded, I begged….all to no avail.  She wouldn’t acquiesce….there were no other appointments….I must wait until September 1st

I’m sure the therapists will not start any weight bearing exercises until the doctor verifies that the bones are healing, so the secretariat has now put my recovery behind by two weeks.  I am not a happy camper.

Since I have been consigned to another two weeks of non-weight-bearing, we needed to replenish my supply of heparin injections, so Craig and I made our way to the pharmacie in Saint Marcel.  It was near lunchtime when we arrived.  While Craig filled the prescription, I watched a steady stream of  townspeople enter the boulangerie and exit with their daily supply of bread….bread of all different sizes and shapes, each purchase bound by a simple paper wrap.    

Mssr Garcia had requested that we pay for our wood with cash so, after finishing at the pharmacie, Craig headed to the ATM.  My day had quickly gone sour and now it was Craig’s turn.  His ATM card was accepted and his transaction was in process when he received a message telling him that due to “technical difficulties” the transaction couldn’t be completed.  With no cash in hand, we returned home to check our bank account.  Alas, our half of the transaction had been completed, our account was $500 lighter.  We contacted the bank and received a dispute form.  Hopefully, we’ll be able to resolve this quickly.

The highlight of the day was my therapy session with Sébastien.  We discussed my therapy…we’re currently working on regaining movement in my ankle, foot and toes; we can continue to work on this until I am able to see the surgeon (chirurgien). 

We tried to put an end to this awful day by enjoying a few glasses of rosé while dining al fresco but clouds rolled in and raindrops started falling.  Some days you’re the pigeon and some days you’re the statue. 

Bonne nuit.

About Languedoc Lady

I'm a newly retired woman from California getting ready to spend a year (or more) with my husband living the good life in Languedoc in the southwest of France.
This entry was posted in Canal du Midi, France, Retirement, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday, August 9th

  1. Susi says:

    What is that saying about “If you didn’t have bad luck you wouldn’t have any luck at all”? You two have surely had your share. It’s time to start down the other side of this hill! I truly appreciate how you celebrate the little successes each day- BRAVO! I hope the bank thing turns out ok. It’s hard enough to communicate with machines and technology in your own language. I can only imagine trying to straighten out a tangle in French! I applaud you! (and pray for you!)

  2. Sharmyn says:

    Sorry you had to have a “statue day” — may your tomorrow be flight filled. :-}

Leave a Reply

