Wednesday, August 4th

It’s been 4 weeks and 1 day since my surgery and I’m anxious to get on with life but my follow-up appointment with Dr Afriat isn’t scheduled until September 1st and, until he gives the ok, I need to remain non-weight bearing….which, pretty much, means having no life.  Dr Leroy is on my side….during my appointment with him, he was adamant that I must see Dr Afriat the week he returns from vacation.  So I’ve been calling Dr Afriat’s secretariat for the past week to request that the appointment be moved up….but all I get is a recording.  I hear days of the week and hours of the day but I can’t really make any sense of the  jumble of words.  We vow to drive into Narbonne and seek out the elusive secretariat.

But first….Kinesiotherapy.  After today’s session, Angelique took me for a “driving test” to evaluate my use of the hated Cannes Anglais.  She happily announced that I’m using them correctly…..move crutches forward, swing foot, hop.  Not graceful, not terribly efficient but, evidently, correct.

After therapy, ever hopeful, we drove into Narbonne to see if we could talk to Dr Afriat’s secretariat.  The strike is over and parking was limited but we found a space and wound our way to Dr Afriat’s office only to discover that the secretariat has, indeed, disappeared.  She’ll be out of the office until August 9th.  Well, that explains that….hope we’ll be able to change the appointment next week when she returns.

Since it was nearby, we decided to stop at Carrefour….Hypermarché selling groceries, clothes, appliances, furniture….anything and everything your heart desires.  Craig is now beginning to enjoy our shopping sojourns….it’s better than the alternative….after all, you can only watch so much telly. 

We carefully chose the aisles we’d stroll down….the store’s much too large and my stamina’s much too low to even think about seeing everything in one trip.  After a few hours of sightseeing, we were both exhausted so we completed our purchases and headed home.   

Mushroom omelettes with salad for dinner….a simple yet hearty meal after a long day.

After dinner, we had visitors out front….a mama chat and her two kittens….one of whom bears a striking resemblance to Felix.  We suspect that after his few late night outings, she’s trying to allege paternity.  Thanks to Dr Teare back in California, we know Felix can’t  possibly be the papa…..but wait a minute…..Ray said his cat could be Felix’s brother!  Hmmmmm.

About Languedoc Lady

I'm a newly retired woman from California getting ready to spend a year (or more) with my husband living the good life in Languedoc in the southwest of France.
This entry was posted in Canal du Midi, France, Retirement, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

