Sunday, August 1st

I have to begin with a postscript to yesterday’s entry…..Craig just told me that Felix didn’t obediently return home last night because his people were calling him.  He high-tailed it in to run straight to his litter box!  It wasn’t Felix who came home, it was his bladder!

Back to today…..After a lazy Saturday, Craig and I wanted to get out for a while.  We decided to go to our favorite restaurant, La Galinière in Capestang.  Their 21 € menu includes an appetizer or a salad, a main course, a cheese course and a dessert.  The food is beyond description….just thinking about it makes my mouth water with anticipation.  So, after crab-walking, bum-scooting and crutching to the car, we were on our way.  It was a perfect day…..sunny and warm with a crisp blue sky.

We found a parking space not too far from the restaurant and started our pilgrimage to food nirvana.  We spied the restaurant….it was open!  Craig wheeled me toward the door but, sadly, we were turned away….they had two large parties and couldn’t receive any more guests.

With heavy hearts and empty stomachs, we wound our way up the hilly streets and dined on the plaza at Café de la Grille.  Craig had a large 440 gram steak (about one pound) grillé en feu de bois (grilled over a wood fire).  It came with salad and Catalan rice (a saffron colored pilaf).  I ordered what I thought would be a light lunch….an omelette with haché and oignons (ground beef and onions).  The actuality of this dish was a gigantic omelette and a plate full of the best French frites I’ve ever had…not the least bit greasy…crunchy on the outside and creamy on the inside….ymmmmm.

After lunch, we took a drive through the countryside looking for Domaine de la Provenquière, the winery that makes one of our favorite wines, Vermentino….a dry, white wine with a touch of minerality. 

Vineyards surrounded us….the ripening fruit preparing itself for next month’s harvest.  In the distance, small villages, mountains and more vineyards. 

As we approached our destination, the sky started to darken…it was time to return to the cottage on the main roads….beautiful in their own right with Plane trees on either side.

We arrived at the cottage just ahead of the storm….thunder, lightning and rain into the early hours of the morning.  No telly tonight… the spectacle outside is entertainment enough.

Dormez bien….Sleep tight

About Languedoc Lady

I'm a newly retired woman from California getting ready to spend a year (or more) with my husband living the good life in Languedoc in the southwest of France.
This entry was posted in Canal du Midi, France, Retirement, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday, August 1st

  1. Susi says:

    So delicious! Everything sounds so delicious. . . except chasing that silly cat thru the vineyard. I can so relate to that entire scenario. Especially that whole “greenies” part. If “greenies” don’t work you are doomed! Truly!
    I was blessed to spend the weekend at a working retreat on the Santa Cruz beach. The waves lulling you to sleep at night. Walking, walking, walking (training) on the beach at dawn. Thank you both so very much for your generous donation to Susan G Koman. You put me over my halfway mark! Hurray!
    The beach really was perfect and watching the dogs running and frolicking at the water’s edge was delightful. I don’t typically use the work frolic but that is most assuredly what they were doing. Except for the two little terriers that were digging for China. All you could see was their little tails wagging above the sand. What a giggle!
    We planned all of our activites for the women of our church thru 2011. I did really well at sitting on my hands and not volunteering for anything until the very end and then they got me. Darn it! 🙂
    I’m waiting to see if I have jury duty this afternoon. Another of my favorite things. How fun it would be to say, “I’m sorry I can serve this year I’m going to be in France!” Just listen to how that sounds! Delicious I tell you!
    Gotta go, I think they want me to do some work . . .
    Hugs and Blessings and Again Many Thanks for your donation!
    Susi

Leave a Reply

