Friday, July 30th

I slept fitfully last night.  Between two “bum scoots” up and down the stairs and Ms Bunout’s maneuverings, I experienced more pain than I’ve felt since I fell down the stairs.  Thank goodness I didn’t use all my pain pills ‘cause I sure need them now!

We had a light breakfast….tea and slices of citron brioche….absolutely delicious. 

I’m becoming reacquainted with my leg.  It doesn’t look quite like itself, but once in a while there’s a flash of recognition.  I’m trying to work with it on regaining some range of motion, but it reminds me very much of Felix….I tell it to flex and it does what it darn well pleases. 

I had my second physical therapy session in the evening.  Ms Bunout is now on vacation so I met with her associate, Sébastian, a very good-looking young man….twenty-something, blond, blue-eyed, athletic without being too muscular.  He speaks some English, so between his English, my French and our trusty Belitz dictionary, we were able to communicate quite well.  After having me exert as much pressure as I could against his hand, he massaged my leg.  Ah, yes….this is the hook they use to get you to return.  With a warning to keep my leg elevated and to wear my boot, Sébastian bid us farewell until Monday.

We had a light dinner and tried to retire to bed early but Felix had a surprise for us.  While locking up for night, Craig realized that Felix was nowhere to be found.  The last we saw him, he was on the little balcony outside the back window.  This is a very small area….just big enough for him to lie down with an occasional roll-over.  It’s at least 10 feet off the ground and has a railing around it.  It gives Felix a sense of the outdoors while giving us a comfort level that he’s still safely inside.   Tonight, Felix (along with our comfort level) was gone!

Craig saw Felix’s eyes, glowing through the darkness and went outside to collect him.  Greenies weren’t enticing him this time….Felix’s new found freedom was just too dear to surrender.  He pranced up the berm and into vineyards….always turning around, shining his eyes in Craig’s direction.  Was this to taunt Craig or to beckon him?   Around and around they went….through the vineyard, down the tow path and past the cottage.  Finally, Felix capitulated.  He lay down to let Craig scoop him up and return him to the safety of the cottage.  No Greenies for Felix tonight….he’s grounded!  

 

 

 

About Languedoc Lady

I'm a newly retired woman from California getting ready to spend a year (or more) with my husband living the good life in Languedoc in the southwest of France.
This entry was posted in Canal du Midi, France, Retirement, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday, July 30th

  1. Sharmyn says:

    Looking at the window, there’s no way it would keep Zilla in. She’s too much of an outdoors girl.

Leave a Reply

