Wednesday, July 28th

Yesterday’s outing must have taken a lot out of me….I have no energy today. 

Sue helped us to set-up an appointment with a nurse for tomorrow morning (nurses make housecalls here!).  Since Dr Leroy told me to see Dr Afriat in 3 weeks, I tried to make an appointment with him but his secretary didn’t answer the phone and I couldn’t make out enough words on her message to know when to call back….. guess I’ll just keep trying until I get through.   

In the meantime, we’re enjoying the BBC…..“Sherlock Holmes” (a great new series set in contemporary England with a younger Holmes & Watson), “Serious Ocean” (a reality show about a group of teenagers on a sailboat voyage around South America), “Doc Martin” (a  comedy-drama about a small town doctor who faints at the sight of blood),  “The Great Outdoors” (a new comedy about an English walking club) and a multitude of shows on antiques and antiquing.  We should be watching more French television to help build our communication skills but it’s comforting to hear something we can usually understand.  I say usually because sometimes the English accents are beyond our comprehension.  Our friend Ray told us he couldn’t understand the accents 30 miles from Liverpool!

We certainly didn’t move to France to watch television (or, rather, “the telly”) but, until my bones mend, it helps while away the hours and the days actually do pass rather quickly. 

Until tomorrow…..

About Languedoc Lady

I'm a newly retired woman from California getting ready to spend a year (or more) with my husband living the good life in Languedoc in the southwest of France.
This entry was posted in Canal du Midi, France, Retirement, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wednesday, July 28th

  1. Susi says:

    Sometimes the “telly” is just what the doctor ordered! Plus if daytime TV is anything there like it is here it will give you the ambition (as if you don’t already have it!) to get up and out of there as quickly as possible! I recall after shoulder surgery I read the entire “Left Behind” series of books (about 8 or 9 at the time) I slept myself into a stuper and I watched TV until I decided to alphabetize the spices in my cupboard to keep me from clicking into the home shopping network.

    • Abby says:

      Hello Auntie!! I just wanted to let you know that we love you and enjoy your tales of the Inn. We are though, very sorry the first part has been so cruel to you, being house bound and all. Hopefully you will soon be out in the country enjoying its finer things. Love to you both, and Felix too! ab and K

Leave a Reply

