Saturday, July 24th

I startled awake with a feeling of heaviness in my chest and trouble breathing.  Oh my God…I’m not having a heart attack after eating all that foie gras & cheese, am I???   A flash of lightning calmed my fears.  I had a large black cat planted squarely on my chest.  Felix, the original “scaredy cat,” was looking for comfort from the summer storm brewing outside.  Thunder, lightning, summer rain and a warm cat snuggled next to me…..life is good.

After the storm, the morning was fresh and calm.  Craig checked the larders and decided another trip to the marché was in order.  He updated his grocery list and headed off to town.

Craig prefers the small shops and only uses the Intermarché (supermarket) for the items he can’t find at the boulangerie, epicerie or boucherie.  He returned shortly before noon and proudly showed off tonight’s dinner….a small pork roast wrapped with bacon.  The roasts on display at the boucherie were much too large for the two of us so Craig asked for a “petit porc.”  The butcher smiled and adjourned to the back room, where he prepared a freshly cut, handwrapped roast….about 1 kilo….just perfect for the two of us. 

The only spices we have in the cottage are salt, pepper and cinnamon.  Dinner was a joint effort….Craig following my direction as I tried to think of how to cook tonight’s repast with what was available in kitchen. 

First up….the pork roast.  It was quickly browned in butter on the stove, then moved to a roasting pan and surrounded with fresh fig halves and sliced onion; after a white wine bath and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar, it was popped into the oven where the simple ingredients fused.  

Next was a very creative brown rice pilaf….celery, onion and fresh apricots were diced and sautéed in butter, then brown rice was added along with a pinches of salt, pepper and cinnamon.  Water was the last addition before the mixture was left alone to simmer for 20 minutes.

As the meal cooked, the sweet aromas permeated the cottage.  It was almost more than Craig could bear.  After he determined that the pork was done to perfection, he quickly dished up our supper and we  eagerly devoured this delicious meal without even a thought of taking a picture. 

Weight Watchers be damned….in France, it IS all about the food.

About Languedoc Lady

I'm a newly retired woman from California getting ready to spend a year (or more) with my husband living the good life in Languedoc in the southwest of France.
This entry was posted in Canal du Midi, France, Retirement, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saturday, July 24th

  1. Sharmyn says:

    Dinner sounds fabulous! (and I’m greatly relieved that the chest pressure was only Felix!)

  2. Carol says:

    What a great meal…Craig is going to become an excellent French chef! Inspiration is the important thing in cooking. Thanks for these great posts!

  3. Bev says:

    Sounds wonderful, but I will definitely have to lose more weight before visiting so I can enjoy all of the great food. I’m hopeful that Craig will be a master chef before too long. I know you say WW be damned, but I’m trying very hard.

Leave a Reply

