Monday, July 19th

I’ve been living, sleeping, eating & breathing on this couch for 11 days now….and have another 8 days of this seclusion looming ahead of me.  I’m tired of being a good sport about it and I’m getting crankier with each passing day.  Looking out the window and watching life….French life….pass me by is becoming unbearable.  So, I did what I do best………

I researched it on the Internet! 

I logged onto “Google” and looked up “how to speed up bone healing.”  Eureka!  It can be done!  By following a few simple steps, I should be dancing out of the doctor’s office next week.  Well, ok, maybe not dancing but, perhaps, able to walk about with the aid of Cannes Anglais.

What magic will allow this wonder to happen? 

1)      No Smoking….. (no problem)

2)      No Caffeine….. (au revoir coffee, adieu tea)

3)      No Soft Drinks….. (I’ll miss you, Coke, but we’ll always have Paris)

4)      No Non-Steroidal, Anti-Inflammatory drugs….. (Tylenol’s my new best friend)

5)      No Alcohol….. (Sacré bleu!  What nonsense is this?)

6)      More Calories…up to 3 times normal intake….. (bring on the foie gras….another croissant, s‘il vous plaît!)

7)      Vitamin and Mineral supplements….. (brought from the US – somewhere in our 2 large duffel bags, 2 suitcases, and 4 carry-on’s)

8)      Homeopathic Remedies – Arnica and Symphytum….. (Arnica’s an old friend already in our medicine cabinet but we’ll need to make the acquaintance of Symphytum)

So, shopping list in hand, off Craig goes to the Supermarché and the Pharmacie, to fill the larder and hasten my journey to wellness.

Souhaitez moi bonne chance (wish me luck)!

About Languedoc Lady

I'm a newly retired woman from California getting ready to spend a year (or more) with my husband living the good life in Languedoc in the southwest of France.
This entry was posted in Canal du Midi, France, Retirement, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Monday, July 19th

  1. Tanya says:

    That sounds like my pregnancy diet! lol.

    • Ken says:

      Back in October, after breaking my femur, the surgeon put me on pregnancy vitamins – one of the principal reasons being to increase my intake of folic acid. He also had me take iron for a month, as the bleeding had triggered temporary anemia.

  2. Sharmyn says:

    Good luck! (are you sure it didn’t say “extra wine”?)

  3. franlowe13 says:

    Gayleen you are amazing! All what you have gone through in the past 11 days. Hope your new found remedy helps the healing fast. Take care Frances

  4. Lisa says:

    I’m loving the Blog! Keep it up! (Have to find out how Symphytom translation to French goes… What hand gesture is Craig going to use at the supermarche?) ;-D ~Lisa

  5. Pat says:

    Can’t imagine what you have been going thru, seems to me you have endured it all in an admirable manner. I recently spent 8 days in our local hospital had a pacemaker
    installed and am now firing on all cylinders, but good greif it was miserable enough and I spoke the language. Hope your home remedies speed up your healing, but take a serious look at the no drinking requirement, wine may not heal your bones but it can make it so much more bearable for you and Craig, might even be good for the cat. Keepthe delightful adventures coming, and do take good care of yourself.
    Bon Jour

    Pat

Leave a Reply

