Sunday, July 18th

Sleep was sound for Craig last night. 

Before I retired, business trips would take me throughout the country.   Craig always said that he couldn’t sleep when I wasn’t home so it wasn’t surprising that he didn’t sleep well when I was in the hospital.  Now that I’m home, he has the best of both worlds….I’m safe and sound inside the house but too far away to poke his side when he starts to snore!

He’s enjoying this perfect combination so much that it was after 8:30 this morning when he finally arose to help me start my day.   First up on his schedule is helping me to the toilette and then choosing my daily ensemble.  I find that I’m not as fussy as I used to be….whatever he chooses is usually fine with me.  Is it because I’ve lost all sense of fashion or because I’m trying to not be a burden?   

While I wash and dress, Craig folds the bed sheets, straightens the couch covers and starts a pot of coffee.  He then helps me back to the couch so I can begin my daily activities, most of which are electronic in nature….catching up on emails, handling our finances, updating my blog.  Television is a secret addiction.   I watched the FIFA World Cup…mesmerized by the final game….pledging my allegiance to Holland until Spain finally won my heart.  We both laugh wholeheartedly at the comedies on the BBC…why do Americans think the British are so “stuffy”?  Their shows are much more risqué and yet, somehow, less offensive than ours.  I’m also addicted to the daily race that is the Tour de France.  I don’t understand the rules of the race or the significance of the colored shirts, but I love seeing the French countryside….it REALLY is that beautiful here….the route is chosen for its difficulty not for its charm. 

About Languedoc Lady

I'm a newly retired woman from California getting ready to spend a year (or more) with my husband living the good life in Languedoc in the southwest of France.
This entry was posted in Canal du Midi, France, Retirement, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sunday, July 18th

  1. Mandy says:

    Hey hun.

    The winner of the previous day’s Tour gets a Yellow (i think) shirt but the other colors may just be team colors?

    Which BBC shows do you watch? I am addicted to Dr. Who, Graham Norton and Top Gear. Others I like don’t play on BBC America.

    • Hi Mandy,
      Yellow I knew….but everyday, they also award a green, a polkadot and a white & yellow. Guess I’m going to have to figure it out if I want to keep watching 🙂

      We don’t get all the BBC shows (only the ones on the free stations), but we’re enjoying Doc Martin (sounds like an old western, but it’s not), An Audience With (one group or person is highlighted; audience is other famous brits), a show featuring upcoming comedians and a show similar to the Odd Couple but the men are older. At home, we were watching the BBC show “Couplings”. It’s hilarious….try to catch it.

  2. Ken says:

    For an explanation of the Tour de France jerseys, go here:
    http://www.cbssports.com/cycling/jerseys

Leave a Reply

